Merry Making

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cold.  Cozy warmth.  Biting wind.  Smooth cocoa.  Darkness.  Light and laughter.  These were the beautiful contradictions which presented themselves one wintry evening, a week before Christmas.  As I began thinking what mood I wanted to radiate from this party, light and the color red popped into my head.  I couldn’t get rid of these two simple ideas, so I ran with it and this is what came of it.

The decorations were quite simple, which was what made them special.  Simplicity truly is beautiful.  I wanted to bring back the “old-style” holiday decor of paper chains and something which resembled tinsel (but without the mess).  So, I set to work making paper chains and went out hunting for a pop of gold to add a bit of happy sparkle to the night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After sucessfully hunting down that pop of gold I needed and after stapling lots of paper together, I began hanging these decorations.  Rumaging around in our garage, I also found that bit of warm light I needed.  The long, low swags in the decorations paired with the warm red paper chains and the soft light made the room feel cozy, perfect for a wintry night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The overall effect was wonderfully satisfying.  Being able to step back from hanging up these decorations and have this scene before your eyes was yet another reminder of my favorite moment of decorating for a client.  The brainstorming is so enjoyable, letting your imagination take flight.  The making of the decorations is beautiful, seeing your ideas come to life.  But it is the moment when you step back from the actual decorating of an ordinary room, and it is completely breath taking.  That is what I love about this process.  Making ordinary things into something beautiful.  Bricolage.

Cheers!

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

